Happy birthday, Mr. A.

Dear Mr. Armitage,

Once again we are commemorating the 22nd of August 1971, that day you entered the world. A very happy birthday to you from this fangirl never well wisher, sorrynotsorry.

Once again, a group of us has participated in a fundraising event organized by Guylty in the shape of an eBay auction and now the final tally is in.

We were able to raise 3,440.23 € or £ 3,100 through the auctions and additional donations this year.

Amazing. Totally and utterly amazing! I’m sitting here speechless and not a little proud. My little contribution came in the form of three items donated to be auctioned off (total proceeds of 186, 50 €) and I managed to snag one of Ani‘s lovely crafts for myself.

This news even garnered a literal high five from Mr. Kate who has been extremely patient with me during the auction days in general and the “hot phase” in particular during our last three seaside vacations. The RA Birthday Auctions are now an accepted part of our annual treck up North to the Sea as much as waves, sand, seagulls and shrimp sandwiches.

We know that this sun will make a huge difference for LOROS, the recipients of this year’s auction bounty. Hopefully it makes you a little proud and happy to see what a group of people who have found each other because of you have achieved through creativity, hard work and community spirit.

As I said once before, fandom may be ABOUT you, but it usually isn’t FOR you. For a few days each August, we break that rule. This is for you from us with love. ❤

May the next twelve months bring happiness, exciting professional opportunities *cough* production company *cough* and most of good health for you and yours.

Many happy returns of the day!

Happily yours,
Kate xx

7 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Mr. A.

  1. I loved this: “As I said once before, fandom may be ABOUT you, but it usually isn’t FOR you. For a few days each August, we break that rule. This is for you from us with love. ❤” Absolutely true. Whatever I usually blog is NOT for Richard. Except for the fundraiser results. After all they are his birthday present.
    And yes, it is absolutely heart-warming and encouraging to see like-minded people come together and achieve something as worth-while as a fundraiser. *Especially* in a fandom situation where it’s not always all hunky-dory.
    Also, please convey greetings to Mr Kate. From now on, he has you back. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The fundraiser monies are his (charity‘s) and yet the fun the auction brings is entirely ours, so it’s a great balance.

      And yes, the fantastic result offsets some of the headaches that go along with fandom throughout the year. Regardless of that, I always have fun with YOU. 😘

      Like

      1. Aw, Kate *pulls her in for a hug – virtually still allowed* That’s mutual!
        I really enjoy community stuff, and I was once assessed in my old job as being someone who thrives on fundraising. Ha. So the auctions are a no-brainer for me. However, it wouldn’t work if I was fundraising in a vaccum. And however much I sometimes grouse about Richard’s latest antics, I will forever think of him fondly because he is the reason I met so many nice people who have enriched my life. Yeah, community stuff is not for everyone. And that’s totally fine. But I love it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What an excellent result, right? Yay to all the creatives and Guylty for organizing! I so loved that picture frame with the Thornton profile on pages from the book that you made – if I’d had more money to spend, I’d have gone for that one too! And I agree that you formulated this very nicely: “As I said once before, fandom may be ABOUT you, but it usually isn’t FOR you. For a few days each August, we break that rule. This is for you from us with love.”
    Also, thank goodness for great husbands tolerating our little hobby! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.